Sleater-Kinney promised that they’d launch a brand new album produced by St. Vincent this 12 months. They’ve now formally introduced that album. It’s referred to as The Heart Received’t Maintain and it’s out August 16 by way of Mother + Pop. They’ve additionally shared a brand new music referred to as “The Future Is Right here”—pay attention, and take a look at the tracklist and album artwork under. The album options the beforehand shared single “Hurry on Residence.”

Sleater-Kinney head out on tour in October. Discover their schedule right here, and seize tickets right here. (Pitchfork might earn a fee from purchases made by way of affiliate hyperlinks on our web site.)

“We all the time deliberate on getting again within the studio—it was only a matter of when,” Carrie Brownstein advised NPR earlier this 12 months when she confirmed Annie Clark’s involvement within the new document. “If there’s an overarching precept to this album, it is that the instruments on which we had been relying proved insufficient. So we sought new ones, each metaphorically and actually.”

The band’s final studio album was 2015’s No Cities to Love. St. Vincent coated Sleater-Kinney’s “Trendy Woman” final 12 months. Clark and Brownstein collaborated on a sequence of surreal brief movies.

The Heart Received’t Maintain:

01 The Heart Received’t Maintain
02 Hurry on Residence
03 Attain Out
04 Can I Go On
05 Stressed
06 Ruins
08 Unhealthy Dance
09 The Future Is Right here
10 The Canine/The Physique
11 Damaged