Frightened Rabbit Share Daughter Cowl of “Poke”

Tiny Adjustments – A Celebration of The Midnight Organ Struggle, Due Out July 12 through Canvasback Music/Atlantic

Jul 03, 2019

Bookmark and Share

Tiny Adjustments – A Celebration of The Midnight Organ Struggle is a brand new tribute album the place completely different artists cowl every tune on Frightened Rabbit’s 2008 album The Midnight Organ Struggle. It was put collectively by the band and now they’ve shared one other monitor from it, a canopy of “Poke” by the British band Daughter. Pay attention beneath.

Final yr, Scott Hutchison, 36-year-old frontman for Scotland’s Frightened Rabbit, was discovered lifeless of obvious suicide after he was earlier reported lacking by the band. Hutchison was truly concerned in placing the tribute album collectively earlier than his demise. When Tiny Adjustments – A Celebration of The Midnight Organ Struggle was introduced two covers of opening monitor “The Trendy Leper,” one by Julien Baker and one by Biffy Clyro, have been shared. Then they shared two completely different covers of “My Backwards Stroll,” one by Manchester Orchestra and one other by Harkin (aka Katie Harkin of Sky Larkin) and Sarah Silverman.

The album is due out July 12 through Canvasback Music/Atlantic and in addition contains covers by Benjamin Gibbard, Craig Finn, The Twilight Unhappy, Lauren Mayberry of CHVRCHES and Aaron Dessner of The Nationwide collectively, and extra.

Among the proceeds from gross sales of the album will profit Tiny Adjustments, a psychological well being charity the band launched final month in honor of Hutchison, “to assist increase consciousness and supply assist for youngsters and younger folks battling psychological well being points.”

The band beforehand issued this assertion concerning the album:

Tiny Adjustments – A Celebration of The Midnight Organ Struggle

To have fun the 10 yr anniversary/birthday of The Midnight Organ Struggle we needed to keep away from the same old strategy of simply repressing the vinyl or rereleasing the identical report with completely different art work or placing out demos that have been by no means meant to be heard by anybody aside from the band and possibly our mother and father. We got here up with the concept of asking some buddies to report their very own interpretations of the songs on the album. It felt like a great way to have fun everybody who had been part of the final ten years of the band and we did not need to do any work ourselves! Each single particular person on Tiny Adjustments has been part of our lives and Frightened Rabbit in a particular manner over the past ten years. We have shared studios, vans, bars, dressing rooms and possibly even underwear with a few of these folks and that is why this report is so particular to us. 

Scott was an important a part of bringing this album collectively and it is one thing he was very enthusiastic about and labored laborious to carry to life. He listened to and authorized each monitor on there with us and he had already began making ready the art work which you may see on there (if you happen to purchase it). This can be a celebration of a report that related hundreds of individuals to Scott and related hundreds of individuals to one another and ten years on it’s nonetheless managing to do it. Scott would most likely have put in some joke right here about when the album hits puberty and begins rebelling by smoking weed and getting issues pierced. We’re not that humorous so as an alternative let’s simply increase a glass, blow out the candles and make a want.

We want the album was out there for pre-order tomorrow and that it’s going to come out July 12th and you can hear to 2 covers of ‘Trendy Leper’ right away whenever you pre-order! Now we have advised you it most likely will not come true however we’ll hold all the pieces crossed for you.

Grant, Andy, Simon and Billy x”

Our present print situation options an article about Hutchison. For the article we spoke in-depth to Grant Hutchison, Scott’s brother and Frightened Rabbit bandmate, about Scott’s long-term battle with melancholy and what he meant to his followers. We additionally spoke to James Graham of The Twilight Unhappy, Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai, and Frightened Rabbit’s former supervisor Storme Whitby-Grubb. Learn it right here.

Frightened Rabbit launched 5 studio albums: 2006’s Sing the Greys, 2008’s The Midnight Organ Struggle, 2010’s The Winter of Combined Drinks, 2013’s Pedestrian Verse, and 2016’s Portray of a Panic Assault. In 2014 Scott Hutchison launched a solo album underneath the identify Owl John. Hutchison additionally teamed up along with his brother Grant Hutchison (additionally Frightened Rabbit’s drummer) and brothers Justin and James Lockey of Editors and Minor Victories to kind supergroup Mastersystem, whose debut album, Dance Music, was launched in 2018.

In April 2018 we interviewed Hutchison concerning the Mastersystem album. You can even revisit our 2016 interview with Hutchison on Portray of a Panic Assault and our 2014 interview with Hutchison concerning the Scottish Independence Referendum.

Again in Could 2018 we posted three tributes to Hutchison after his passing:

Learn Michael Corridor’s tribute.

Learn Paul Bullock’s tribute.

Learn Mischa Pearlman’s tribute.

Tiny Adjustments – A Celebration of The Midnight Organ Struggle Tracklist:

1. The Trendy Leper – Biffy Clyro
2. I Really feel Higher – Oxford Collapse
3. Good Arms vs Unhealthy Arms – Fiskur
4. Quick Blood – Proper On Dynamite
5. Previous Previous Normal – Josh Ritter
6. The Twist – Wintersleep
7. Vibrant Pink Bookmark – Peter Katis
8. Head Rolls Off – Craig Finn
9. My Backwards Stroll – Katie Harkin & Sarah Silverman
10. Maintain Your self Heat – Benjamin Gibbard
11. Extrasupervery – Jeff Zeigler
12. Poke – Daughter
13. Floating In The Forth – The Twilight Unhappy
14. Who’d You Kill Now – Aaron Dessner & Lauren Mayberry
15. The Trendy Leper – Julien Baker
16. The Twist – Piano Bar Struggle
17. My Backwards Stroll – Manchester Orchestra

Assist Beneath the Radar on Patreon.