Banoffee is an up-and-coming triple threat. The Aussie-born, Los Angeles-based singer, songwriter, and producer is announcing her debut album Appear At Us Now Dad, which is due out subsequent February on Cascine and characteristics appearances by Empress Of, SOPHIE, and Cupcakke. She’s produced a name for herself the final couple years, and has toured with Taylor Swift on her worldwide stadium tour as aspect of Charli XCX’s group. Now, Banoffee is sharing her album’s lead single.

The Empress Of collab “Tennis Fan” is really a sturdy opening volley, meditating someplace among the low-essential allure of Carly Rae Jepson and the manufactured structure of Katy Perry. The melody is so infectious, albeit simplistic in building. With a head-bopping cadence and pointed lyricism, this song delivers a modernist indictment of these who feel they’re ace at playing you for a fool: “No I do not do a back hand/ I do not play games/ Never ever been a tennis fan/ Not in my nature to play ya.”

What’s definitely on show right here, each in the song and video, is the sanctity of female friendship. Director Quinn Whitney Wilson’s art-pop sartorial aesthetics and make-up lend the visuals a glamorous edge. Here’s what Banoffee had to say about it all:

Functioning with Lorely (Empress Of) and Quinn was such a pleasure and it turned into a daytime slumber celebration of sorts, with all suggestions getting welcome and practically nothing deemed also silly. I hope when individuals watch this clip they really feel the fantastic feelings we had been all experiencing at the time. It is a song about rejecting the yuck stuff but it is just as significantly about celebrating the fantastic stuff. I feel this video does a terrific job of displaying how sturdy friendships can make something unkind really feel unimportant and trivial.

Watch the video for “Tennis Fan” under.

01 “Tennis Fan” (Feat. Empress Of)
02 “I Lied (Interlude)”
03 “Fuckwit”
04 “One Evening Stand”
05 “Count On You”
06 “Don’t Go Sharing Your Clothing (Interlude)”
07 “Contagious”
08 “Chevron”
09 “That Sorta Stuff (Interlude)”
10 “Permission”
11 “This Is For Me”
12 “Ripe” (Feat. Cupcakke)
13 “I Let You Down (Interlude)”
14 “Look At Us Now Dad”

Appear At Us Now Dad is out by way of 2/21 by way of Cascine and Dot Dash. Pre-order it right here.